My Best Chicken Wings – (Chaps-like)

For me, the ultimate chicken wings are at Chaps, here in Burlington Ontario.  I have found this recipe, refined it and they turn out absolutely fantastic!  If you have any hints or experience in attempting to reproduce the style of chicken wings at Chaps or Turtle Jacks, please let me know…

Ingredients:

  • 20-30 chicken wings
  • 3 eggs
  • cream (1/2 cup)
  • pork rinds (1 bag)
  • parmesan cheese
  • ketchup (1/2 cup)
  • vinegar (1/3 cup)
  • brown sugar (2-3 tbs)
  • Sriracha hot sauce (1 tsp)
  • garlic powder (1 tsp)
  • Hot spices – Mango/Chipotle, Blazin Bourbon (1 tsp ea.)

Directions:

The Wings:

  • Crush a full bag of pork rinds and mix in a bowl with parmesan cheese (mix to your liking, I probably had a 3/1 ratio pork rind/parmesan).
  • Take eggs and mix in a little cream and mix together well.
  • Dip chicken wings in egg/cream mix, and then roll in the pork rinds/parmesan (in a separate bowl), set wings on parchment paper (I use a baking sheet covered in parchment paper) (also great for a quick clean up)
  • cook until crispy (I only had to flip them once), 425F for 15 minutes each side.

Sauce

  • Mix ketchup, vinegar, twin brown sugar
  • I used about 1/2 cup of atkins ketchup, 1/3 cup of vinegar, 1 tsp garlic powder and brown sugar to taste.
  • Add 1 tsp of Sriracha hot sauce to make a nice sweet/tangy sauce (mild).
  • Take chicken wings and sauce and dump into a big ziplock bag until they are covered.
  • Pour in big bowl and enjoy

Leave a comment